My own silver beads

Oh finally finally. I really never thought I would get it done but I did. Before my girls were born I got very interested about silver smith works and wanted to learn myself some of their tricks. So I took a few courses and bought a few gadgets.  One trick was how to create your own beads and these gadgets were the little toys that I got.

Smith tool

Smith tool

The above tool helped me to hammer our the circles from the sterling silver piece. The next tool helped me to hammer the circles in to a concave shape so they could then be attached to each other by soldering.

Smith tool Smith toolAfter all the hammering, the soldering, the drilling of holes, the filing, the polishing, the beads were finished. The necklace turned out simple with two smaller beads and two larger ones at the bottom as the pendant and a handmade sterling silver chain. I love the size difference between the two beads since it gives it that natural flow. The beads in the bracelet are all the same size.

Sterling silver bead necklace Sterling silver bead necklace Sterling silver bead necklace Sterling silver bead necklace

Sterling silver bead bracelet Sterling silver bead bracelet Sterling silver bead braceletThese pieces are so simple but so much hard work that even I can’t believe it. Every minute was worth it though. I would love to do this ‘silver smithing’ even more if I just had more time. Can’t have it all.

– Alina

This entry was posted in Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My own silver beads

  1. sunemoonsong says:

    They are beautiful!

  2. sunemoonsong says:

    also, you could work in brass or copper which would be less expensive but give you the same sort of satisfaction

Leave a Reply

