Magical light

29.1.2015

Hi Everyone. Here is a link to this hot air balloon lamp’s tutorial. Hope you like it.

The winter time is here and it is a dark one. At best we only have daylight under 4 hours a day here in the south of Finland and in the north the sun does not even rise. During this lamps are needed and at the end of the summer I started looking for some for our daughters’ new room.

I wanted something unconventional and magical. I actually couldn’t find one single lamp I liked in the stores (Poor poor variety for children) and knew I might have to do this myself. So one day I was roaming around Ikea and then it hit me. Hot air balloons!! I’ll let the pictures do the talking now.

Hot air balloon lampsHot air balloon lamps Hot air balloon lamps Hot air balloon lamps Hot air balloon lamps Hot air balloon lampsSo this first set was taken during daylight. These lamps are originally from Ikea and are meant as table lamps. I just turned them upside down and added some tin cans which I decorated using some washi tapes. I then added some cute little animals to the cans and off they then. I had achieved in creating some cute little hot air balloon lamps! I tried to take some night photos as well. Always so much harder but this will have to do.

Hot air balloon lampsHot air balloon lamps

Hot air balloon lampsHot air balloon lamps

I’m pleased that I did the little touches like the clouds on top, the soft toys, the washi tape garland and the adventure quote in the frame behind. I had some paint left from the small drawer I had painted for the kids and I used in on the frame. Great way to make the room seem compact. Hope this lamp ‘set’ let’s my little girls imaginations fly.

In the end mom’s happy and so are the girls. That’s all we needed.

– Alina

This entry was posted in DIY/ Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Magical light

  1. Alina, this idea needs to be published in Parents Magazine – seriously, you should send it in, or to some other crafty or decorating sites that perhaps your other readers know about. I’m pinning this so the whole world can see how brilliant you are!! Innovative and adorable!! Hugs, Darnell

    • alinakelo says:

      Thank you so much for your words Darnell! I’ll be sure to spread this idea around since I think it is such a lamp each kids deserves or at least a lamp that wakes up their imagination. 🙂

  2. P.S. I know! IKEA should pay you for this idea and you should work as a designer for them!!

  3. Heini says:

    Ihan mahtavan näköiset lamput! Miten noi on kiinnitetty kattoon? Näyttävät niittäin oikeasti roikkuvan tuosta pumpulipilvestä vain 🙂

    • alinakelo says:

      Hyvä että näytää juuri siltä kun oli se efekti mitä hain! 🙂 Pingotin siiman huoneen toisesta päästä toiseen ja sen siiman ympärille pyöritin ensin johdot ja sitten ohuella langalla ompelin pumpuli pallerot yhteen. Aika näpertämistä mutta onnistunut sellainen!

  4. Kitty says:

    Siis Alina… Jos mä ikinä saan lapsen, niin tuut suunnittelemaan lastenhuoneen sisustuksen!
    Mä luulen, että tää on sitä mitä sun pitäiskin tehdä tulevaisuudessa. Tavalla tai toisella.
    You have the gift my friend.

  5. hunnini says:

    Hi Alina,

    Did you find these lamps in those colors (yellow & red) or did you apply color to them? IKEA seems to only carry white now. I absolutely love this idea, you are so creative and innovative! I feel so inspired to decorate my baby’s nursery 🙂

    • alinakelo says:

      Hi! When I did these, Ikea did offer the lamps in variety of different colors. That’s a shame that currently they have nothing but white but don’t let that stop you. If you feel brave enough you could try spray painting the lamps or just decorate the lamps with washi tapes. I hope you find a solution to this! I really loved decorating my girls’ room since you can really just let your imagination fly in the kid world. Have fun. – Alina

  6. Leah says:

    I love this!! What did you use for the clouds and to hold the lights right where you wanted them?

    • alinakelo says:

      Thank you! The clouds are made of polyester fiberfill (basically the stuff inside stuffed toys. I actually bought a bag of it from a craft store but you can also empty out a pillow or an old toy if you want to save).

      How did I get the lamps where I wanted them? This is a bit more complicated. The cords going from the lamp are the lamps’ original cords. I just connected them to a extension cord.

      Now I need the lamps to hang from the ‘cloud. I came up with the idea of using extra strong fishing line (see through colored). I was able to pull a long stream of it across the room and attach it at both ends. I then attached the extension cord to the finshing line just by rolling the extra cords around the fishing line. Each lamp got it’s own place just by me adjusting the cords around the fishing line. After that I did the cloud around the cord mess. I used white fine thread to keep the cloud filling in place.

      the electricity I got by pulling the extension cords other end by the wall next tot he wardrobe to the socket.

      I hope you got something out of this. it is actually quite difficult to explain. The fishing line, all the cords and the thread just magically disappeared after I got everything in place. I was even surprised myself how well it turned out.

      If you still want information just say so. I can make a blog post about it with picture so you get the point but I think that getting the lamps to float from the cloud you have to look at the space you are going to use. you might have to find another way of hanging the lamps.

      If you have any questions still don’t hesitate to ask! 🙂

      • I would like a blog with pictures. I’m a little dull tonight I guess and can’t quite visualize how you used the clear fishing lines. Pictures would help. The lamps are adorable.

      • alinakelo says:

        Thanks for your comment. I’ve decided to actually write a post on this since you are not the first to ask about this. I’ll be back home soon and I’ll have the chance to take some shots for you. I’ll be posting about this in the coming two weeks

  7. Adrienne Stamper says:

    I love this! I want to do this for my baby girls room that is due March 20th. How can I buy those lamps?

  8. Joshua Garfinkel says:

    Alina,
    I recently proposed on a hot air balloon and my fiance and I would like have some hot air balloon decorations such as the ones you have posted on Pintrest at our the wedding. Can you please provide a website or point me in the right direction so we can purchase or make some.
    Thank you
    Joshua

    • alinakelo says:

      Hi Joshua, I bought those lamps from Ikea. At least here in Finland it is possible to purchase these lamps in white. There used to be multiple colors but I’m sure if you can make these white lamps work as well. I created a garland for the white one. I created these hot air balloon lamps from this Ikea lamp by turning the lamp upside down and adding tin cans to them.

      Here is a link to the ikea lamp:
      http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/20162001/

      I’m currently working on a tutorial for this lamp due to the large interest towards these them. Keep you eyes open for that.

  9. Amber says:

    Hello! From America! I absolutely love these little lamps! They are so sweet for a baby’s room. I’m am about to have my first child and just purchased these lamps from Ebay to copy your idea. Thank you so very much for sharing! I’ll send you a picture of how mine turn out. Oh and IKEA no longer has these lamps for sale on the American website but I lucked out and found the red, white, and even a fun turqouise colored lamp on Ebay if any of your other blogger friends are having trouble finding them perhaps they might get lucky there too! Thanks again!!! 🙂

    • alinakelo says:

      Hi Amber! That’s too bad to hear about the items not being on sold in Ikea anymore. But Thanks for the great tip about finding them on Ebay. I’m sure you helped someone out. I’d love to see your version of the lamps. I’m just about to be ready with my tutorial as well about them but I’m always keen to see how others do it. I’m really glad you like the lamps. And congrats on your first baby. Your in for a ride but a great one. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Hot air balloon lamp tutorial | Alina

  11. Jen says:

    Hi Alina, thank you for the fantastic idea! We’re going to create some balloons for our nursery too. We’re planning a fantasy theme (Miyazaki!) and these balloons will fit in perfectly!

    For people in the US, it’s very confusing, IKEA’s site says the lamps are not for sale online or in any of the stores around me, but when we went a couple weeks ago, there were a whole stack of them. So I recommend calling the store and asking.

    • alinakelo says:

      Oh the theme is great! I love Miyazaki. That will surely bring some fantasy into the nursery. Hope you have fun building these lamps.

      Thanks for the Ikea information, Jen! Hint for all you planning to build this.

  12. Amber says:

    I am almost finished with my lamps! I’d love to send you a picture but the comment box doesn’t give me the option… How could I get it to you? Your idea worked amazing!!!

    • alinakelo says:

      Hi Amber! I’m happy to hear the lamp is almost done and it worked.
      There are two ways to send the picture. You can edit your comment(press on the pencil image) and use the img tag. You’ll have to have the image already then at some url site.It’ll ask you for that url so it can attach it to your comment.

      Or then you can email me the picture to adejose2@gmail.com.

      Can’t wait to see it.

  13. Pingback: UP UP & AWAY | pattern curator

  14. Pingback: 4 lámparas infantiles fáciles y originales | Pequecordoba

  15. Lucy says:

    If you cant find the Ikea lamps, a good alternative (especially if you’d like colour changing balloons) is pairing normal paper lanterns with Ikea’s colour changing LED Strips. Both links can be found here:

    Lanterns: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B010670YXE?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=A2DZ4P1IMZLKTW

    LED: http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/00202324/

  16. Pingback: Designing the Nursery-Cute & Trendy Nursery decor - Bun in the Oven

  17. Pingback: 22 Simply Splendid Decor Baby Nursery Ideas to Consider - Homesthetics - Inspiring ideas for your home.

  18. Pingback: 22-einfach Großartig Dekor-Baby-Kinderzimmer-Ideen Zu Prüfen – Houzz Ideen

  19. Pingback: Awesome DIY Ideas To Decorate a Baby Nursery

  20. Pingback: 22 SIMPLY SPLENDID DECOR BABY NURSERY IDEAS TO CONSIDER • DIY Tips

  21. Pingback: 20+ DIY Night Light Ideas For Kids - IdeaStand

  22. Pingback: 6 Best Ideas To Design & Upgrade Your Nursery | UptownBaby

  23. Alissa says:

    that’s a wonderful project! really beautiful.
    I’m also trying to find what is the project that is next to your logo on the right – the white card with several characters and a magnet that says “make a wish” – is this project in the blog?

  24. Hanna says:

    I love this! I have to make this for our first baby’s room, but I can’t find that lamp anywhere anymore. Does anybody still know what the name of the Ikea lamp was? That way i can maybe find still find it somewhere else or used or something… Have to have it! So in love with this idea, really impressed

  25. Pingback: 20+ Heimwerken Nachtlicht Ideen für Kinder 2017 | Viele Kreative Ideen

  26. Pingback: 25 Gorgeous DIY Nightlights To Match Any Home Decor - DIY & Crafts

  27. Pingback: DIY Lighting Ideas: 15 Nightlight Projects - Style Motivation

  28. Pingback: DIY Lighting Ideas: 15 Nightlight Projects – chuckiesblog

  29. Pingback: modewelt 20 + DIY Nachtlicht Ideen für Kinder - modewelt

  30. Pingback: 22 Terrific DIY Ideas To Decorate a Baby Nursery |

  31. Pingback: 20 Easy DIY Night Light Ideas to Decorate your Room ⋆ Bright Stuffs

  32. Pingback: 22 tolle DIY-Ideen zur Dekoration eines Babykindergartens - Neue Ideen

  33. Pingback: Beautiful Nursery Ideas | Newborn & Baby Photography Herefordshire

  34. Pingback: 20+ Terrific DIY Ideas To Decorate a Baby Nursery - Borex.net

  35. Pingback: 15 Easy DIY and Crafts For Adults

Leave a comment